Homeschool Chronicles: The “Hunger Games”?

http://schomeschooling.com/scaihs-member-hunger-games-fireside-chats/
http://schomeschooling.com/scaihs-member-hunger-games-fireside-chats/

So, for the past year, my son has been trying to get me to read/watch the “Hunger Games”. Until recently, I’ve been against it. Mostly because the thought of kids killing each other didn’t sit quite right with me.. O__o

I relinquished the other day and watched the first movie (looove Netflix!). I was nervous because I wasn’t sure what I was in for. My son sensed my uncomfortableness and began stopping the movie in different places so that he could explain what was going on and what things meant. Now, usually that would irritate me but, in this case, I appreciated it. Him doing that set a lightbulb off in my head…ding! Why not make this whole event a lesson plan? He wants to see the second movie and wouldn’t that be a great culmination? Has this ever happened to you?

I found some pretty cool (and free!) lesson plans and linked them below:

Catching Fire for Social Justice: A Lesson Plan for High School Students

Catching Fire Teaching Unit (Common Core Aligned)

Catching Fire Reading Guide

Oh!! I LOOOOOOVED the movie by the way and I can’t wait to see the second one!

Until next time…

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 12.17.51 PM

Leave a Reply

