Self Talk: 86 Excuses

http://focusmagazine.org/excuses-everybody-has-one.php
http://focusmagazine.org/excuses-everybody-has-one.php

So, I spend a lot of time driving around because of my job. I am a private teacher and I go to different places to teach students. Now, as much as I hate driving, it does give me an opportunity to think and talk to myself. Yes…you read correctly…talk to myself. Before you make a judgement to think I’m crazy, hear me out.

Today, I started talking to myself before I realized that I was doing it. (I could actually be a little crazy or…I talk to myself so much that it has become second nature.) The things that were coming out of my mouth hit home…a little too much, but I thought I would share. I’m sure I’m not the only person going through this.

We all know that the first step to healing an addiction is admission. So here goes…I make excuses. I.MAKE.EXCUSES. I am a workhorse once I buckle down to do something but, in those moments before taking the step to start, I make enough excuses to build that monument of nothingness we have all heard about.

http://blog.zerodean.com/2011/quotes/when-youre-committed-to-something-you-accept-no-excuses-only-results/
http://blog.zerodean.com/2011/quotes/when-youre-committed-to-something-you-accept-no-excuses-only-results/

I started thinking today about God. What if He made excuses? I wonder what His excuses would look like…

*I’m not helping her! She doesn’t even appreciate what I’ve already done!

*I don’t feel like creating man today. I’m tired…I’ve worked all week!

*Why should I create anything else anyway…the Devil is just going to copy it!

I mean really…I’m sure I could go on for days. Thinking about this made me realize how trivial excuses are. I have excused my way out of SOOOOO many things. I excuse my way out of creating artistic pieces, blogging, making YouTube videos, calling friends back, making time for myself…the list is endless. My question to myself is this: Why do I do that? I don’t yet have an answer. But, I do have a place to start.

With the new year right around the corner, here is a prime opportunity to start afresh. I’m not going to wait until the new year to make this change (that would be making another excuse). I will no longer make excuses. That’s it. No additional things to add. No additional commitments. I don’t even know what that would look like but, I’m committed to try.

What do you want to make a commitment to change right now?

Until next time…

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 12.17.51 PM

Leave a Reply

