Getting my Life: What the Crap is Oil Pulling?

http://foodmatters.tv/articles-1/10-great-reasons-you-should-be-using-coconut-oil
http://foodmatters.tv/articles-1/10-great-reasons-you-should-be-using-coconut-oil

So, yesterday I posted a blog telling you guys how I’ve changed some things about my diet. In doing this, I’ve changed part of my routine as well. Looking back, I wish I had done this a bit at a time so I could tell you exactly what has given me more energy and focus over the past few days. Of course, I didn’t so…oh well. Such is life!

Before I get into this, the closest I am to a doctor is a Biology/Chemistry degree. I do not practice medicine and am just relaying results of research that I have done and effects that I have undergone or observed on myself. If you try this and it doesn’t work, meet your expectations, or whatever…it’s not my fault. Just saying’…

On to the subject, if you know me, you know that I’m not one to jump on a bandwagon. I’m a dweller, meaning I will sit on something, for sometimes years, before making a decision. Well, this oil pulling situation is no different.

I first heard about oil pulling from my Mom who is, like me, a person who is always trying to better her health.  I did some research and here are a few facts (found here):

1. First off, oil pulling is not a new concept. It’s pretty old. I’ll spare you the details.

2. Oil pulling is said to cure diabetes, asthma, and eczema. There’s no scientific proof. But, when is there ever scientific proof for a cheap, preventative measure? I mean, really…let’s get real.

3. Oil pulling needs to be done with a raw, cold pressed, organic oil. Sesame, sunflower, and coconut oil is preferred although, I’ve found more articles/videos touting the best effects from coconut oil.

4. Oil pulling is said to aid in ridding your body of toxins. There are millions of bacteria in your mouth so, why not start there?

5. Oil pulling is said to also give you energy. I’ve seen this personally. Yay!

Ok. Before I tell you how I did it, let me just say that I’ve tried this before with some cheap, off-brand coconut oil.  I put it into my mouth at room temperature and vomited. I don’t know why…the texture of it didn’t sit well with me. (Read below for how I solved that issue.) I felt no affects from it so I stopped doing it. It’s only been recently that I’ve felt a pull (no pun intended) to go back to doing it.

How to oil pull:

1. Make sure you have high quality oil.

2. A tablespoon is recommended. Coconut oil is a solid at room temperature. I put mine into a very small bowl and then put that bowl into a bowl of hot water. I then jump into the shower. By the time I’m done, the oil is melted. It is recommended to NOT microwave it. Microwaves can change the chemical make-up of any food that is warmed up or cooked in them.

3. Put the oil into your mouth making sure you don’t swallow it. Swallowing it won’t kill you. This is done to rid your body of toxins so swallowing it defeats that purpose.

4. Pull the oil through your teeth for the recommended time of twenty minutes. Is there an oil pulling troll lurking around the corner counting the minutes as they pass? Of course not so, just do your best. I pull while I’m getting dressed, doing my hair, and putting on my make-up…obviously more than twenty minutes.

5. After your time is up, spit the oil out into the trash (make sure there’s a bag in there). Once the oil comes back to room temperature, it will solidify again. This could clog your drains or make a mess on the inside of your trash can.

6. Notice that the oil is opaque when it leaves your mouth when it was clear when you put it in. This is because there are toxins and bacteria in the oil when you spit it out (so I read).

After I oil pull, I rinse my mouth with warm water and then brush my teeth with baking soda.

It can take up to a month to see results so don’t start acting crazy when it doesn’t work on the day you try it. Most of the time, when you are making changes to your body, patience is absolutely needed!

Let me know if you try this!

What crazy things do you do to stay healthy?

Until next time…

Stay

Leave a Reply

