Container Gardening

http://www.noffn.org/wiki/1-starting-a-garden/1-8-container-gardening/
http://www.noffn.org/wiki/1-starting-a-garden/1-8-container-gardening/

So, as a child, I grew up around gardeners. My grandfather had a garden that was at least two acres big. My dad had a garden that was about the same size. My summers were filled with snapping beans, shelling peas, shucking corn, and freezing veggies for the winter.

At the time, gardening was not something that I was excited about doing. My dad would till the ground while me or my brother would follow along after him dropping seeds in the ditch he created. Then, the other of us would be behind the “seed dropper” raking the dirt over the seed. Ugh…I hated it.

Now that I’m an adult, I’ve felt a pull to garden. It could be because my home grown roots are now springing up or it could be that I want my kids to have the same experiences that I had. Watching a garden grow is something that everyone should experience.

http://www.childrenshospital.vanderbilt.org/blogs/CHAMPSGardens/?p=388
http://www.childrenshospital.vanderbilt.org/blogs/CHAMPSGardens/?p=388

Although I live in a house with a yard, dedicating part of that yard for a garden just didn’t see ideal yet, the pull to garden would not go away. In comes container gardening.

At first, I was quite frustrated. I didn’t realize how much I had to water the plants. I thought that the rain would take care of that. I was mistaken. I also had no idea that fertilizer was so important.

The first couple of plants died. We either didn’t water them enough or they didn’t receive enough fertilizer. Either way, they didn’t make it. We regrouped, planted more, and now are raising a pretty decent garden filled with herbs, vegetables, and fruit.

For those of us who homeschool, this is a great opportunity to teach your children about patience, botany, the water cycle, seed time and harvest, and when you do harvest your fruits and veggies, you can teach them how to freeze and can their food. This is also a good opportunity to teach them responsibility and we know all of our kids need that!

What are some things that you love about gardening? What are some ideas that you use to teach your kids skills and character building?

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Container Gardening

  1. I, too, have recently responding to the tugging at my heart that was gardening. Last summer, I planted a raised bed garden with tomatoes, peppers, spinach, and bush beans. The sense of accomplishment and pride that I felt when I was able to prepare dinner from my harvest was absolutely amazing! I struggled in the beginning, but thanks to youtube, fellow gardeners, and books, I was able to recover from the “mess” that I thought I had made! This is the second summer that I’ve planted a garden, and I definitely don’t plan to stop anytime soon. I’m even thinking about trying my hand at some fall/winter crops.

  2. Hi! I just watched a couple of your YouTube videos that led me to your blog. It looks like we have a lot in common. I’ve tried container gardening a time or two, but this year I decided to try cinder block gardening. I planted tomatoes, beans, lemon cucumbers, cantaloupe, and herbs. I wish you all the best in your homeschooling adventures. I teach middle school science.

    If you get a chance, feel free to stop by my blog. Enjoy your summer!

Leave a Reply

