Homeschool Chronicles: I Hate History!

http://www-pvhs.stjohns.k12.fl.us/teachers/weinbrj/0AFE8606-0118C716.1/APWH.jpg
http://www-pvhs.stjohns.k12.fl.us/teachers/weinbrj/0AFE8606-0118C716.1/APWH.jpg

So, as a child, I was always a good student. I loved the learning process: getting information, processing it, and regurgitating it back to the teacher. Do you remember that kid that would grunt and bounce in their seat with their hand raised when the teacher would ask a question? Yeah…that was me. I paid for it too. I was joked on and bullied all through school. Most of the time, I brushed it off because I was one of the smartest kids in class and that, my dears, made me proud.

I was proud until I got to History class. I don’t know if it was the subject or the teacher. At that time, and even know, for some reason, most History teachers were coaches. I don’t know why that is but if it was the season that they were coaching, well, let’s put it this way: I didn’t learn a lot of History.

It didn’t help that most of the information was repeated year after year and none of it felt like it applied to me. Ancient Egypt, World Wars, civil wars…it all was sad and depressing. To this day, I don’t watch the news because of the same reasons.

I was excited to get the opportunity to homeschool my son. After being a public school teacher for seven years, I saw it as an opportunity to challenge my teaching abilities while giving my son the individualized education that I feel he deserves.

I can teach Science with ease (I was a Science teacher). Math was one of my favorite subjects and I was one class away from having it as a minor in college. I also did very well in English and Literature classes. I was one of those kids that liked reading more that watching T.V. Then yesterday, I remembered that I’d have to teach History. *enter fear here*

Instead of allowing myself to go into a complete panic, I treated this the same way I would treat any other subject I’ve never taught before: I did some research and put some creative thought into it and I came up with a plan.

There are two things that are important to me: I want my son to know where our lineage is from and I want to teach him within his interests.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/e/ec/Civilizationboxart.jpg/256px-Civilizationboxart.jpg
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/e/ec/Civilizationboxart.jpg/256px-Civilizationboxart.jpg

My son loves video games. There’s a video game called Civilization that allows the player to develop civilizations. It’s pretty extensive. Developments range from weaponry to conquering other territories to technology. Ha! That’s half the battle! (I think.)

Last summer, I traced my father’s ancestry back to the 1400s. I found out that my great-great-great-great (9 times) grandmother was one of the women who were accused in the Salem Witch Trials. I also found out that I had a great (many times) grandfather who fought in the War of 1812.

My son will learn history as it relates to our lineage and play video games all at the same time. It’s genius! This will kill two-no, three birds with one stone. He will learn world history alongside learning his own and having fun!

What great ideas have you had while homeschooling?

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

