Toss It Up Thursday: I am a raw vegan…for now!

Source: http://running.competitor.com/2011/05/nutrition/eat-more-weigh-less_27441/attachment/veggies
Source: http://running.competitor.com/2011/05/nutrition/eat-more-weigh-less_27441/attachment/veggies

So, if you haven’t already done so, check out my post on my health scare here.

Immediately after I received the information about this infamous lump, I started eating as raw as I could. Since last Monday, I’ve had a couple slices of bread and a bit of cooked food on Wednesday but nothing more than that. I’ve been mostly raw vegan. But what is that?

Ok, first of all I’m not eating raw meat! Actually, I’m not eating meat at all right now. I’ve heard many testimonies and have read a couple of medical articles that speak to breast masses disintegrating with a raw vegan diet. I figured what could it hurt?

All day long I am grazing on raw fruits, vegetables, and nuts or drinking all natural fruit juice. All. Day. Long. The crazy thing is this: I’m NEVER hungry! The first couple of days I had a pretty intense migraine. I don’t know if my body was detoxing or if that was from stress but since last Friday (a couple days after I started), I’ve been great.

Why is eating the vegetables raw better than eating them cooked? Cooking can destroy some of the nutrient and mineral content as well as the phytochemicals in the food. But, does that mean cooking your food is bad. Nope. As a matter of fact, some vegetables cannot be eaten without cooking them. Potatoes would be a wonderful example of this. I’m not one of these gung ho people who will try to condemn every cooked food eater I see. As a matter of fact, I will join you again someday. *wink* But, for now, I gotta do what I gotta do.

My goal everyday is to eat as colorful as possible. I also try not to eat fruits and vegetables in same meal. The term “meal” is pretty relative since I easily eat for an hour or two at a time. I guess you could call it snacking.

I’m no raw vegan professional and I’m sure that I’ll need to supplement here shortly (which I plan on doing) but, I will tell you that it’s not as hard as it seems. I do have to pack a pretty big lunch and I’ve eaten out only once (I had a HUGE strawberry spinach salad) but, like I said before, I’m not ever hungry and if I have a craving, I eat a piece of fruit.

Source: http://nutritionmythbusters.blogspot.com/2012/05/myth-using-juicing-machine-is-best-way.html
Source: http://nutritionmythbusters.blogspot.com/2012/05/myth-using-juicing-machine-is-best-way.html

Yeah, I have major cravings but, I never feel as if they are going to take over. As soon as I want some chocolate or chips or bread, I grab a piece of fruit. I read somewhere that it would help and by golly, it has!

Where do I plan on taking this? Who knows! One thing you’ll learn about me is this: I am not a regimented person. I will do things as I see fit to do them. It’s frustrating to others…Heck, it’s frustrating to me at times but, that’s how I’ve been and I can acknowledge that.

My goal is this: Eat raw vegan for at least two weeks…more if I see fit. Then, incorporate one cooked meal a day and eat meat less often. The ideal day would be a fresh juice or smoothie for breakfast, nuts for mid-morning snack, huge salad for lunch, piece of fruit for mid-afternoon snack, veggie soup, steamed veggies, or salad with organic meat for dinner.  Mmmmm…I’m excited.

If you plan on going raw vegan or just vegetarian, make sure you do your research and talk to a doctor that you trust. Don’t just take my word for it!

Tell me about your diet goals! Comment below or email me at staywoo.art@gmail.com.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

