Fan Friday: Exclusive Interview…Ebony Cromartie

Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 9.34.11 PMStayWoo: What originally inspired you to become a fashion designer? 
Ebony: I would enter shopping centers and suits would be too large on the top or the pants/skirt would be too snug. I would then purchase tons of coordinates and just wasn’t fullfilled with my purchases anymore. I never wanted to see anyone in my clothes.
StayWoo: How have you learned the “tricks of the trade”?
Being patient and listening to others that have gone before me.
StayWoo: What has been your biggest challenge?
Creating the visions I have in my head without being able to draw.
StayWoo: How did you overcome that challenge?Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 9.35.15 PM
By collecting pictures that are closest to what I have in mind and making modifications until I reach the masterpiece.
StayWoo: What has been your greatest accomplishment?
Making my parents proud by graduating from the University of Alabama~ Huntsville. 

StayWoo: What are your goals for your business?
To be featured in an issue of In Style or WWD magazine, be well respected in the fashion industry, or see my clothing in a department store.
StayWoo: What is the hardest part of your job?
Not being able to comprehend a pattern.
StayWoo: How has your life changed since becoming a fashion designer?
I have inspired other women to follow their dreams at any age. I am more confident in my sewing. I can generally make what I see in magazines or at the department stores and modify them as desired. 
StayWoo: What are your favorite pastimes?
Surfing the web for upcoming fashion shows and unique fabric.
StayWoo: If you could encourage someone else who is wanting to do what you are doing, what would you tell them?
Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 9.40.47 PMMake sure to learn the basics of sewing techniques and when there is not a clear and concise understanding, ask for help. Attend seminars for your specialty. Ask your worst critics to critique your garments. Enjoy the compliments and learn from the criticism without being offended. Be competitive only when necessary.
StayWoo: Do you have a website or contact information?
My website will be finished in the fall 2013. Like me on facebook at ECHT. Email me at ECHTCLOTHING@gmail.com or ebony.cromartie@yahoo.com

StayWoo:Do you have anything else you want us to know?
 Continue to evolve and learn what the customer enjoys about your work and never substitute that!
Thanks, Ebony for your time and patience! You are a jewel! 
Leave a Reply

