Hairy Monday: How I Cut My Natural Hair

Source: http://thankgodimnatural.wordpress.com/category/hair/products/
Source: http://thankgodimnatural.wordpress.com/category/hair/products/

I’ve had so many people ask me about cutting curly, natural hair. To be honest with you, I’m not sure there is any sure fire way to cut curly hair. I’m sure if you ask Lorraine Massey, author of ” Curly Girl: The Handbook”, she would tell you to get a Deva Cut. If you ask your local stylist, she might tell you that you have to straighten it out or at least blow dry it to get a thorough cut. For me, the option is not quite as simple.

I have had many experiences with cutting my natural hair. I’ve tried “dusting” my ends. I’ve tried cutting the bottom of my twists off. I’ve had my hair straightened to get it cut and I’ve gotten a Deva Cut. I’ve had my curls clipped wet and the last time my ends were clipped, my hair was dry and curly with no product on it. So, which one is the best you ask? Well, before I answer that question, let me explain what each routine entails.

Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 9.06.02 AMWhen I first went natural seven years ago, I wore my hair very short, curly and blonde. Once I decided to grow my hair back out, I began putting heat on it and applied heat to it every week. My hair suffered from serious heat damage but, I had my hair cut while it was straight. The reason for this is because I wore it straight almost 100% of the time. That routine would not work for me now because I hardly ever straighten my hair.

“Dusting” is simply cutting off less than 1/4″ of hair. The amount of hair that you are cutting is so little that when you look at the clippings they look like dust. I didn’t really care for this method because it took too long and I still felt single stranded knots (SSK) and split ends when I was done.

When I got my last big chop, the beautician cut my curls with my hair wet. This method Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 8.12.33 PMwas just okay to me because when I got home and washed my hair, I could feel the unevenness. You couldn’t tell by looking at it but, I knew that it was uneven.

My Deva Cut experience was a little weird. I’m not sure if I expected the stylist to have curly hair, the salon to have at least one curly haired client, or if I felt weird because the stylist said that she had never cut someone’s hair as curly as mine. Keep in mind that I’m a 3a-3c texture so, you can put two and two together. I was satisfied with the end result. It wasn’t long before I felt SSK and split ends again and for the 85$ that I paid, I expected more.

My last hair cut was in December and my stylist cut my hair dry and curly with no product on it. To be honest, I’m more satisfied with this cut than any other one. Cutting my hair dry allows the stylist to see my hair in its true form, how it lays, and how much shrinkage I’m dealing with. Like most people, different areas of my head shrink more than others. To top it off, the haircut was VERY reasonable.

So, what is the best method for cutting hair? Well, I think that’s for you to decide. You want to make sure, though, that you know what you hair goals are and that you relay them to your stylist. If your stylist can not honor those goals, keep it moving. If you’re like me, your main goal is to have healthy, long, natural hair. Your job, then, is to find a method that will support that.

What hair cutting methods work for you? Let me know!

Until next time…

If you are interested in joining the “Protective Style Challenge”, email me at staywoo.art@gmail.com. TTYL!

One thought on “Hairy Monday: How I Cut My Natural Hair

  1. I like your honesty in this article. I live in a region where there aren’t any ‘Devacut’ hairdressers to be found, no things to win on Naturallycurly.com or more skilled curly cutters, so sometimes I feel like ‘I wish I had the chance to get a Devacut’ or that. Finding mixed chicks leave – in 3 years ago got me to discover my curls (3bc) which wanted to stay after they were dry (and the next day! And the next!)
    and I just absolutely LOVED what I was reading in the book from Lorraine Massey. It all seems so logic now. Leave the curls alone! Let them be! I think you know about the huge life time battle we’ve had with our hair, straightening it and so on. Now it’s only left for all the hairdressers’ business to catch up :o)

    I still believe, after all the worst cuts in the world, that one day I will find a hairdresser and I will be happy with it. Sometimes I want to cut it myself. Soon I will try someone who did the Curlsys technique in a neighboring country about an hour drive away. Last time just getting the ends done cost me €50, this time I’m going for a big cut because my long locks are becoming too much work for a busy girl like me. Good luck with your journey and keep on writing!

    A curly sista

Leave a Reply

