Heavenly Hump Day: Get Out The Boat Peter

Source: http://leohartshorn.blogspot.com/2011/08/walking-on-water.html
Source: http://leohartshorn.blogspot.com/2011/08/walking-on-water.html

So, most of us are familiar with the Bible story about Peter walking on the water (Matt. 14:22-34). Jesus walks out to the boat where the disciples were, Peter sees him and wants to walk on the water too. I’ll stop the summary right there. What, you may ask, is so inspirational about that?

Well, if you’ve been following me either here or on my YouTube channel, you already know that this is my year of no fear. I have always been one of those people who will mull over a decision until I simply just talk myself out of it. I’m sure, when I look back, I’ve missed a plethora of opportunities. I’m tired of living my life like that or as my students would say, “I’m not about that life!” LOL!

Anywho, I was thinking about Peter walking on the water. Now, this obviously is not something that is normal. This was so abnormal that when the disciples saw Jesus walking on the water, they thought he was a ghost. Water isn’t strong enough to allow someone to walk on it…right? Or is it?water-drop-wt

The water never had to be “strong” enough to hold anyone until Peter (and Jesus) walked on it. It was only when Peter got out of the boat, positioned himself to walk, and then took several steps that the water needed to be “strong’. Of course, my mind started thinking.

We often look to God to provide for our needs and even our wants while we sit around and wait. We wait for a sign. We wait for a voice. Some of us even wait for the “right one” to come along. If Peter had waited for the water to look “strong” enough to hold him, he would’ve died in that boat, waiting.

It is when we position ourselves to step out, that God steps in. I can’t think of a point in my life where I sat around on my bum and God did everything for me. I don’t know why I was expecting him to do that now. Once I made a decision to move, God was there…ready. It was like God had been there all the time like Jesus was already on the water, waiting for Peter to get out of the boat.

What are you waiting for? What decision do you need to step out on? Well, get on with it Peter and get out the boat!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

