Tutorial Tuesday: Multi-Bun Natural Hair Tutorial

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 6.07.58 PMSo, last week I featured an artsy-craftsy tutorial. I figured this week, I’d do a hair tutorial. The video for this tutorial (seen here!) can be seen on my YouTube page (granolaheads2010). Below you will find what I did to prep for this protective style. If you’re not sure what a protective style is, I explain it completely in yesterday’s blog.

One of the things that you must always be aware of as a natural, is moisturizing your hair. Keeping the delicate balance of protein and water in your strands is vital. Since our hair is curly, each turn in your strand can prove to be a breaking point and not moisturizing your hair, makes these point even more fragile.

Before I attempted this style, I L.O.C.’d my hair. After shampooing with a shampoo bar (Va’Ja Naturals), I did a protein conditioner (Keratin Maintenance, Replenish Masque). After getting out of the shower, I plopped my hair to remove the excess water. I then added my castor oil and my Shea Moisture’s Curl Enhancing Smoothie. After that, I braided my hair into about sixteen sections and went to sleep.

The next day, I wore my hair in a braid out (Yes, you can wear your hair out on this challenge. My goal was only to protect it about 90% of the time.). That night, I put it up in a pony tail and went to sleep on my satin pillow case. The video picks up the following morning.

Now, this hair style might be able to be worn for a couple days. I can’t do it because I will get a headache. You can release it at the end of the day and then redo it the next morning. I would categorize this updo as a go to style if you don’t have a whole lot of time. The entire thing took me about fifteen minutes.

Overall, this hairstyle can be worn casually or it can be dressed up. If you happen to have any questions, refer to the video or comment below. Don’t forget to email me (staywoo.art@gmail.com) if you want to enter the “Protective Style Challenge”.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

